Free Computer and I.T. Books

December 21, 2005

2 More Free C# Books (C Sharp)

Here are 2 more freely available C# (C Sharp) Books available online. The first book, "Data Structures and Algorithms with Object-Oriented Design Patterns in C#", focuses on using C# with object-oriented design patterns and will assist you in learning how to program data structures and algorithms as complete C# programs. The second book, "Dissecting a C# Application - Inside SharpDevelop", discusses experiences in building real world applications using .NET and C# with SharpDevelop, an open source IDE for the .NET platform.

Data Structures and Algorithms with Object-Oriented Design Patterns in C#:

The primary goal of this book, Data Structures and Algorithms with Object-Oriented Design Patterns in C#, is to promote object-oriented design using C# and to illustrate the use of the emerging object-oriented design patterns. Experienced object-oriented programmers find that certain ways of doing things work best and that these ways occur over and over again. The book shows how these patterns are used to create good software designs. In particular, the following design patterns are used throughout the text: singleton, container, enumeration, adapter and visitor.

Virtually all of the data structures are presented in the context of a single, unified, polymorphic class hierarchy. This framework clearly shows the relationships between data structures and it illustrates how polymorphism and inheritance can be used effectively. In addition, algorithmic abstraction is used extensively when presenting classes of algorithms. By using algorithmic abstraction, it is possible to describe a generic algorithm without having to worry about the details of a particular concrete realization of that algorithm. The author also believes that after learning the rudiments of program writing, students should be exposed to examples of complex, yet well-designed program artifacts so that they can learn about the designing good software.



Algorithm Analysis:

Asymptotic Notation:

Foundational Data Structures:

Data Types and Abstraction:

Stacks, Queues, and Deques:

Ordered Lists and Sorted Lists:

Hashing, Hash Tables, and Scatter Tables:


Search Trees:

Heaps and Priority Queues:

Sets, Multisets, and Partitions:

Garbage Collection and the Other Kind of Heap:

Algorithmic Patterns and Problem Solvers:

Sorting Algorithms and Sorters:

Graphs and Graph Algorithms:

C# and Object-Oriented Programming:

Class Hierarchy Diagrams:

Character Codes:



Dissecting a C# Application - Inside SharpDevelop:

This book, Dissecting a C# Application - Inside SharpDevelop, is about sharing the authors' experiences in building real world applications using .NET and C# with SharpDevelop, an open source IDE for the .NET platform. You will learn about design issues and decisions made, techniques and technologies used, as well as background information on features of SharpDevelop that you won't usually find in everyday applications. SharpDevelop is a full-featured Integrated Development Environment that leverages the features of C# and .NET, and builds powerful applications. It is entirely written in C#, and supports various project types in multiple programming languages. You can download it here: The code accompanying this book is available on the Apress web site. You can always get the latest C# source code from, compare it with the code for this book and learn how code evolves and how new features are implemented. (3.37 mb, zipped pdf file, 538 pages)

Summary of Contents:
- Introduction
- Chapter 1: Features at a Glance
- Chapter 2: Designing the Architecture
- Chapter 3: Implementing the Core
- Chapter 4: Building the Application with Add-ins
- Chapter 5: Providing Functionality with Workspace Services
- Chapter 6: The User Interface
- Chapter 7: Internationalization
- Chapter 8: Document Management
- Chapter 9: Syntax Highlighting
- Chapter 10: Search and Replace
- Chapter 11: Writing the Editor Control
- Chapter 12: Writing the Parser
- Chapter 13: Code Completion and Method Insight
- Chapter 14: Navigating Code with the Class Scout and the Assembly Scout
- Chapter 15: The Designer Infrastructure
- Chapter 16: Implementing a Windows Forms Designer
- Chapter 17: Code Generation

Filed under: Free Computer and I.T. Books — computer_teacher @ 8:00 pm

Powered by WordPress